Needlework swap & cinematic influences

IMG_1062

(Caution: partial doll nudity below. It is inoffensive but may not be appropriate in all environments.)

Now that I’ve found my camera again and have fresh batteries, I can finally share what I received in a Den of Angels swap last month. ┬áIt was especially exciting for me, as Vee didn’t have much in the way of full outfits until these arrived, and it included a few things I hadn’t asked for specifically but had been wanting to get.

IMG_1049

Vee is so cute in this outfit, and I especially love the tights; the pictures don’t do it justice, but her feet look really cute and more human than they do when you look at the resin.

IMG_1053

I was also sent a wrap skirt, but somehow managed to misplace it while cleaning, so those pictures will have to wait.

IMG_1051

I’ve been watching a lot of Film Riot lately, which has me thinking more about my process in photography (and greatly missing filmmaking), especially in terms of how much I do in post. With this shoot, I spent more time color correcting than I have in the past, as well as doing some more playing around with composition, lighting and depth (in the vein of previous posts).

IMG_1065_2

The graininess of my camera in low lights still bothers me, but overall I am quite pleased with how these pictures came out. I also love my new backdrop, which is a wall tile that I bought discounted because it had been damaged. It’s nice to have something with a little more character than my standard bit of black satin.

IMG_1073

Now that my swap partner has what I sent her as well, I can share the pictures I took before shipping them without fear of spoiling the surprise. All items are handknit and felted to one degree or another.

IMG_0997

The patterns were improvised, and I used Knit Picks Shadow in their discontinued colorway Foxtrot.

IMG_1006

None of the buttons are functioning, as snap closures are a bit easier to deal with at this scale, and while these buttons are a little oversize I knew that they were perfect for the project when I found them.

IMG_1008
IMG_1010

The doll I made these for has the character of the ghost of a young Victorian-era girl, and while this may not be quite historically accurate, I really loved it as a bit of inspiration and I feel it fit in well with my own sense of design.

IMG_1012
IMG_1011

As the patterns were improvised, the exact design of the collar was actually accidental, but I ended up really loving the wraparound effect it had and the way it balanced with the strap of the hood.

About Marika

Writer, knitter, composer, artist, DIYer and a half-dozen flavors of geek. View all posts by Marika

Leave a Reply

